Preview of BLOOD MOON: A CAPTIVE’S TALE

Ruth Hull Chatlien shares an excerpt from her upcoming novel, Blood Moon: A Captive’s Tale, now available for pre-order.

Ruth Hull Chatlien

My upcoming novel Blood Moon: A Captive’s Tale will be published on June 14. Today, I want to share the cover and one of the early scenes.

BM_277x416_150dpi

EXCERPT

July 1862

“Mama, mama, come look!”

The voice of my son breaks into the conversation I am having with my hired girl. Jimmy races into the kitchen and stops so abruptly that he nearly topples over. He gazes up at me, his blue eyes as wide as I have ever seen them. “Mama, a b-big war party is riding past.”

My heart lurches as I remember last month’s ominous sign, but mindful of my son, I place a hand on my chest to calm the palpitations. Although I am by nature a fearful woman, I must appear calm for the child’s sake. “Past the agency?” I ask. “They are not stopping here?”

“No. They are riding to the ford. Very fast.”

I expel…

View original post 468 more words

Leave a Reply

